Department of Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan


AOSS Faculty elected AAAS Fellows

Posted: December 21, 2009

AOSS Professor Mary Anne Carroll and Joyce Penner, Ralph J. Cicerone Distinguished University Professor of Atmospheric Science, are among 10 University of Michigan faculty members newly elected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Professor Carroll was recognized for sustained research and service in atmospheric chemistry and creative teaching in earth system science. In addition to her AOSS appointment, she holds appointments in chemistry and geological sciences, both in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.

Professor Penner was recognized for her research in identifying and quantifying the role of atmospheric aerosols in changing the Earth's climate, and for the link associating aerosols with human activities. She is also a member of the UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), co-winner of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize.

The AAAS tradition of electing fellows began in 1874 with the election by peer AAAS members of scientists and engineers chosen because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Latest Headlines