Department of Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan


Two AOSS faculty and two AOSS students part of IPCC, co-winner of '07 Nobel Peace Prize

Posted: October 12, 2007

Congratulations to AOSS faculty members Joyce Penner and Natasha Andronova and AOSS students Minghuai Wang and Li Xu — part of the UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change that was a co-winner with Al Gore of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize. Joyce was one of the 7 lead authors, Natasha one of 25 contributing authors and Minghuai and Li were contributors  to the Fourth Assessment Report chapter, Understanding and Attributing Climate Change.


Professor Penner is the Ralph J. Cicerone Distinguished University Professor of Atmospheric Science and Dr. Andronova is a research scientist in AOSS. Both Wang and Xu are doctoral students in the Department.


Information about the IPCC and the Fourth Assessment Report is available at: 

Latest Headlines