Department of Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan


AOSS Chair Jim Slavin Elected as an AGU Fellow

Posted: January 29, 2012

AOSS Chair Jim Slavin Elected as an AGU Fellow

Congratulations to AOSS Chair Jim Slavin on being elected an AGU Fellow for "fundamental contributions to the understanding of the solar wind interactions with the planets and the structure and dynamics of the Earth's magnetosphere". Jim joins a select group of scientists who have been elected by their peers as an AGU Fellow.

Read the NASA Press Release at

About Jim Slavin

Dr. James A. Slavin is a Professor of Space Science and Chair of the Department of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences at the University of Michigan. Previously, he held a number of leadership positions during his 30 years with NASA, including:

  • Director of the Heliophysics Science Division at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center (2005 - 2011)
  • Head of the Electrodynamics Branch (1989 - 2005)
  • Discipline Scientist for Magnetospheric Physics at NASA Headquarters (1986-1987)
  • Staff Planetary Scientist at the California Institute of Technology Jet Propulsion Laboratory (1983-1987).

Dr. Slavin has served or is presently serving as a Science Investigator on 19 Space Science missions including the Cluster, Space Technology 5, MESSENGER, Magnetospheric MultiScale, and BepiColombo missions.

He has authored over 300 scientific articles concerning planetary magnetospheres, magnetic reconnection and substorms, and the solar wind interaction with non-magnetized planets and comets. Dr. Slavin is a recipient of seven NASA Group Achievement Awards, two NASA Medals for Exceptional Achievement, the University of California Regent's Fellowship in Space Physics, and, most recently, Fellow of the American Geophysical Union.

Latest Headlines