Department of Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan


Professor Kasper to Receive 2018 Henry Russel Award

Posted: June 16, 2017

Professor Kasper to Receive 2018 Henry Russel Award

Climate & Space is very pleased to announce that Professor Justin Kasper has been selected to receive a 2018 Henry Russel Award from the U-M Rackham Graduate School. 

The award was established by the University Regents in 1925 using funds from a bequest left by Henry Russel (U-M Law, 1875). The award is given annually to faculty who "…have demonstrated an extraordinary record of accomplishment in scholarly research and/or creativity, as well as an excellent record of contributions as a teacher." The Henry Russel Award is considered to be the University's highest honor for faculty at the early- to mid-stages of their career. 

"I feel honored and humbled to receive this recognition from the University given the amazing research and teaching I see on campus every day." said Professor Kasper. "I am grateful for the support from my department and the University and for the incredible students and colleagues that make this all possible."

The awards are presented at the Henry Russel Lecture during the winter 2018 term. This year's Henry Russel Lecturer will be Terry E. Robinson, Elliott S. Valenstein Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience, LSA. Three other faculty will also receive Russel Awards at the lecture: Becky Lorenz Peterson, assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer science, CoE; Daniel Rabosky, assistant professor of ecology and evolutionary biology and assistant curator, Museum of Zoology, LSA; and Paul Zimmerman, assistant professor of chemistry, LSA.

Congratulations, Professor Kasper! 


Latest Headlines