Department of Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan


Prof. Moldwin named Fulbright Arctic Chair 2019-2020

Posted: January 29, 2019

Prof. Moldwin named Fulbright Arctic Chair 2019-2020

The Climate & Space department is very pleased to announce that Prof. Mark Moldwin has been selected by the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board as the Fulbright Arctic Chair for 2019-2020. 

The Arctic Chair for US scholars is a three-four month grant to do research and lecture any institution of higher education or research in Norway. Just one award is given to a U.S. scholar each year. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement as well as record of service and demonstrated leadership in their respective fields.

“I am very delighted and excited to represent the U.S. and the University of Michigan as the Fulbright Arctic Chair," said Prof. Moldwin. "I look forward to learning from and working with colleagues in Norway, and hopefully see the Northern Lights again.”

Prof. Moldwin's summary statement for the Fulbright-sponsored program: 

A Fulbright Arctic Chair at the University of Bergen will enable a new research program studying the coupling of the Earth’s upper atmosphere with space. This coupling is through Birkeland currents, named for their discoverer –Kristian Birkeland. Working at the Birkeland Center for Space Sciences will enable the combination of ground and space-based data with modeling to probe the fine-scale structure of these currents. The Arctic Chair will also enable discussions of inclusive and active learning. One of the major issues facing science is the exclusion of women and other groups through discrimination and harassment. An objective will be to understand programs at UB that promote inclusion.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to build lasting connections between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program, which operates in over 160 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given more than 380,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbrighters address critical global in all disciplines, while building relationships, knowledge, and leadership in support of the long-term interests of the United States. Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in many fields, including 59 who have been awarded the Nobel Prize, 82 who have received Pulitzer Prizes, and 37 who have served as a head of state or government.


Congratulations, Prof. Moldwin! 

Latest Headlines